• Title

  • LSMSA Class of 2023 celebrates 39th commencement ceremony 103 TOPS-qualified graduates earn $30,910,

    LSMSA Class of 2023 celebrates 39th commencement ceremony
    103 TOPS-qualified graduates earn $30,910,405 in undedicated, merit-based scholarships
    (Natchitoches, LA) – During the Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts (LSMSA)’s 39th Commencement Ceremony, 103 seniors graduated from the school. The ceremony was held in Prather Coliseum on the campus of Northwestern State University on May 20, 2023.
    “The Louisiana School is a continuum with a strong past and a hopeful future," said LSMSA Executive Director Dr. Steve Horton. “As you celebrate this significant milestone in your life, I encourage you to keep in mind the support and encouragement you received during this journey.”
    LSMSA’s commencement tradition began in Prather in 1985 with 172 members of the first graduating class. Horton began the 39th commencement by expressing gratitude to everyone who makes the Louisiana School possible, including citizens throughout the state, legislators, elected officials, alumni, families, faculty, staff, students, and the board of directors. He then recognized members of senior administration who have helped make the school’s success possible, including Dr. John Allen (’98), Chief of Staff and Director of Operations; Ms. Angela Couvillion (’93), Registrar and Chief Articulation Officer; Dr. Kristi Pope Key, Director of Academic Affairs; Ms. Ali Landry, Executive Director of the LSMSA Foundation; Ms. Christie Price, Dean of Students; Ms. Emily Shumate, Director of Enrollment Services and Institutional Research; Ms. Rolanda Slutsky, Director of Support Services; and Ms. Randi Washington, Director of the Living Community.
    In her senior address, “Living Life Forward,” Ashley Green of Houma spoke about progressing beyond difficulty.
    “At LSMSA, we have developed the durability and maturity that we need to pick ourselves up and keep moving forward. We’ve been taught to use our voices for what we believe in, regardless of our opposition,” she said. “The school has given us the skills to be doers, and as doers, we can accomplish our dreams. Thank you, LSMSA, for helping us to understand and to live.”
    Dr. Kim Hunter Reed, Commissioner of Higher Education for the state of Louisiana, was the keynote speaker.
    “Whatever your future holds, we know it will be amazing because you’ve put in amazing work,” said Reed, who referred to the class as resilient and steadfast, particularly given their untraditional high school careers due to the Covid-19 pandemic. “Louisiana needs each and every one of you – all your talents, all your energy, and all you have to offer.”
    Sixty percent of LSMSA’s graduating class will attend 13 colleges and universities in Louisiana while 40 percent are headed to 37 different universities throughout the U.S. and abroad. Collectively, the LSMSA Class of 2023 – all of whom qualify for TOPS – has been awarded $30, 910,405 in undedicated, merit-based scholarships. This scholarship money is in addition to more than 3,000 hours of college credit earned through articulation agreements and dual enrollment credits, which more than 84 percent of the class took advantage of during their time at LSMSA.
    “The pandemic and its related fallout created monumental challenges, but you proved that in times of crisis, we find our character in moving forward, in embracing challenges, and in serving our communities,” said Horton. “I want to challenge you as the Class of 2023 to continue to excel, to continue to learn and to serve, and to know that the Louisiana School will remain here for you and with you. Go forward – go forward and excel.”
    LSMSA’s newest alumni by parish are:
    Ascension Parish
    Aidan Borne
    Abigail Melancon
    Bossier Parish
    Marshall Gawel
    Leighanna Kain
    Jasper Lamont
    Caddo Parish
    Daniel Kennen
    Calcasieu Parish
    Joy Dong
    Mateo Este-McDonald
    Joshua Gillett
    Garrett Gould
    Kamryn Keys
    Isabella Leslie
    Jordan Murray
    Reese Nordan
    Elise Ramcourt
    East Baton Rouge Parish
    Ren Ackoury
    Sarah Baquedano-Zavala
    River Costello
    Theseus Hoffpauir
    Alyse Huguet
    Evangeline Parish
    Beau Fontenot
    Karli Swanzy
    Iberia Parish
    Ravi Baker
    Olivia Brown
    Salim Elkhan
    Damian Liamkeo
    Jefferson Davis Parish
    Mark Stanton
    Jefferson Parish
    Asean Nguyen
    Lafayette Parish
    Adrianna Connolly
    Gabriela Juarez
    Uyen Nhi Pham
    Cole Williamson
    Lafourche Parish
    Juliana Allemand
    Lara Boudreaux
    Errol Chouest
    Maggie Duet
    Summer Rodrigue
    McKinlee Thibodeaux
    Lincoln Parish
    Peter Owen
    Samuel Owen
    Kate Peterson
    Anh Pham
    Rosie Shultz
    Livingston Parish
    Delaney Ferris
    Natchitoches Parish
    Joshua Chesal
    Rachael Christensen
    Eli Dyjack
    Hunter LaGrange
    Anne Michelle Long
    Orleans Parish
    Tadgh Bowman
    Ouachita Parish
    Manasi Desai
    Pooja Garlapati
    Abigail Shumate
    Pointe Coupee Parish
    Emma Circello
    Victoria Friddle
    Rapides Parish
    Samantha Abi-Rached
    Sofia Adams-Giron
    L.J. Aguillard
    Gianna Benavides
    Jolie England
    Avijit Kumar
    Kate Long
    Talyn Novak
    Cas Perry
    Niya Thomas
    Mikala Veronie
    St. Charles Parish
    Maci Bergeron
    Julian Conravey
    Luke Gauthreaux
    Lyrrice Mwaghore
    Emerson LeDoux
    Jeanne Patterson
    St. Mary Parish
    Annemarie Campbell
    Lacey Guagliardo
    St. Tammany Parish
    Samantha Dugan
    Arianna Jackson
    Ari Lee
    Isabella Tarasova
    Madeline Williams
    Tangipahoa Parish
    Aroma Chanda
    Carter Copsey
    Emma Crawford
    Isabella Danos
    Adam Deslatte
    Myles DiMattia
    Silas Falgout
    Victoria Wootan
    Terrebonne Parish
    Aaron Burton
    Hunter Chaisson
    Madalynn Collier
    Ashley Green
    Kaitlyn Hoang
    Joy Qiu
    Vermilion Parish
    Claire Gremillion
    Vernon Parish
    Evan Shelton
    Washington Parish
    Raiyne Brant
    West Feliciana Parish
    Aidan Feess
    Anna Landry
    Out of state
    William Brown – Industry, TX
    Emma Cecchini – Cary, NC
    London Osborn – League City, TX
    Jaime Perdue – Kingwood, TX
    Mary Claire Theut – The Woodlands, TX
    LSMSA, an internationally ranked boarding school, is a tuition-free, public high school for high-achieving rising sophomores, juniors, and seniors with a nominal room and board fee to cover housing, meals, and campus activities. The LSMSA Foundation offers assistance for families in need to ensure no eligible student is denied the school’s college-level living/learning experience. For more information about the Louisiana School or to apply for the 2023-24 school year, visit www.LSMSA.edu.